Inspired by the Story of a Famous dog in Japan named Hachiko

In 1924, Hidesaburo Ueno , a professor in the agriculture department at the University of Tokyo , took in Hachiko, a golden brown Akita , as a pet. During his owner’s life, Hachiko greeted him at the end of each day at the nearby Shibuya Station . The pair continued their daily routine until May 1925, when Professor Ueno did not return. The professor had suffered from a cerebral hemorrhage and died, never returning to the train station where Hachiko was waiting. Every day for the next nine years the dog waited at Shibuya station.

Hachiko attracted the attention of other commuters. Many of the people who frequented the Shibuya train station had seen Hachiko and Professor Ueno together each day. Initial reactions from the people, especially from those working at the station, were not necessarily friendly. However, after the first appearance of the article about him on October 4, 1932 in Asahi Shimbun , people started to bring Hachiko treats and food to nourish him during his wait. This continued for nine years with Hachiko appearing precisely when the train was due at the station.

Hachiko died on March 8, 1935, and was found on a street in Shibuya.

Hachiko’s stuffed and mounted remains are kept at the National Science Museum of Japan in Ueno, Tokyo. His monument is in Aoyama cemetery in Minatoku, Tokyo.

Eventually, Hachiko’s legendary faithfulness became a national symbol of loyalty, particularly to the person and institution of the Emperor.

The exact spot where Hachiko waited in the train station is permanently marked with bronze paw-prints and text in Japanese explaining his loyalty.

Each year on April 8, Hachiko’s devotion is honored with a solemn ceremony of remembrance at Tokyo’s Shibuya railroad station. Hundreds of dog lovers often turn out to honor his memory and loyalty.

79 thoughts on “Inspired by the Story of a Famous dog in Japan named Hachiko

  1. I wanted to see this in Ueno when I went to Japan, but unfortunately my strict itinerary did not permit it. 😦 Will sure see that in the future!

  2. Normally I don’t read post on blogs, however I would like to say that this write-up very pressured me to take a look at and do it! Your writing taste has been surprised me. Thank you, quite nice article.

  3. I watched the movie and CRIED like a baby and it inspired me to get a dog… I have yet to do so because im still a tad bit frightened of dogs…. ( childhood thing ) but I never thought in a million years that a dog could be like this… animals are more loyal than people.. why is that? im so serious asking this question!

    • Animals dont expect anything in return only human expects things in back…it’s because we have got sixth sense which makes us to think in a negative way as well as positive way….We always wish for more…When we know to live life with what we have..life will be fine and balanced..when we start thinking of having more things…life changes… Do animals ask anything in return other than love….but humans always expects money than love…sixth sense is the reason for it..

  4. This is one of my most loved stories ever told. Cried non stop when I saw the movie. Made me realize that dogs are more loving and loyal creatures than humans. It saddens me though that some people fail to realize that and hurts them. :(Truly wonderful post πŸ™‚ Kudos!

  5. Reblogged this on Pretty Little Dreamer and commented:
    Whoever said that diamonds is a girl’s best friend clearly didn’t have a dog. I don’t think any creature in this world can be as loyal as a dog. They will love you through and through. This love is only limited to the days they have here on earth. But even so, I know they remain as our guardian angels even after they’re gone.

    “From man’s best friend’s unceasing loyalty, mankind should master.” — Scott Latham

  6. It’s a beautiful and very moving story!
    I love animals. I have 3 cats and 2 dogs πŸ™‚
    And i always try to help homeless and abandoned animals.

    This is grat blog. I will visit it:)

    • Yup i had seen..they are so cute πŸ™‚ Sorry for the mother cat 😦 But happy to see all kittens are good πŸ™‚ I’m inspired…… you gotta helping tendency for all animals πŸ™‚

  7. If yoo look on the right side of my blog, you can see categories: Milord , Moje Zwierzaki. There are pics of my animals. Some of them ( dog Szarka) i saved πŸ™‚
    Yopu are very welcome on my blog!

  8. Thanks for sharing this story. The movie makes me cry. I thought it was interesting that initially he wasn’t well received at the train station. What a miracle that he survived as long as he did.

Leave a Reply

